top of page
Search

HOUR OF POWER – Yeah right!


Are you so sick of people saying, “it is just an hour of power”? I am sorry but when I was told that and saw the recommendations of what I should be doing in my hour of power it turned into 3 hours of nothing 2 coffees, 3 cinnamon donuts, and 2 desk butts. (that’s me head butting the desk)


I get it, I see the point. This is when we are supposed to be at our most productive with no distractions and just get in and do the “do’s”. Those tasks that we may now take an hour to do but initially took us all day.


Everything I preach about is consistency and owning your mistakes. I totally sucked at my hour of power for almost 90 hours of powers. Three months it took me to work out what I needed to do for my business each day and get it all done within the hour and that I had the “right” tasks done.


Step 1 – What are your right tasks?

- What makes you money? You may not LIKE doing these tasks, but you must do them. For me it is networking, writing to you, doing training videos and making sure our members are happy with the material and content I am giving them.

- These tasks CAN NOT be done by another member of my team they are all “me”

Now don’t get me wrong I like networking via social media and going to events however sometimes I know how much work is waiting for me when I return, and I would prefer someone else to do them BUT people work with ME. I am the face of the business and I am the brains, therefore, I must do it. I spend 15 minutes of my hour of power networking on social media. (more info on that another time)


Step 2 – Get rid of your distractions

- CLOSE down Facebook or if you need it for your hour TURN OFF NOTIFICATIONS (yes you can do this – just ask Facebook help it will tell you how)

- Turn your phone to DND and setup an exemption list – so school, mum, hubby etc – only those people can call you in case of emergency


Step 3 - Get a coffee/tea/energy drink

- If you don’t get a coffee now you will use this as an excuse part way through and this will then be a “distraction”


Step 4 – Time yourself

- I mean it start the clock. I set an alarm 15 minutes in, so I know when networking is finished and then a 15-minute warning alarm as well.


Do not beat yourself up if you don’t get your tasks done as I said above this took me 3 months to get right!! I love helping with this so if you need ideas on what to do for your hour of power please send me an email with some info on your business and I will happily advise you of some tasks you could find super productive for your hour of power!



DO NOT DO THIS ON WEEKENDS – AS MUCH AS I SAY CONSISTENCY IS KEY – SO IS FAMILY.

35 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page